Integration, Ramp-up & Operation

Early and continual integration

Life punishes those who come too late with costs, deadlines and reduced quality. What can you do?

We understand facility management

The times when facility management stood for occasionally filling holes in the roof with straw, or patching the floor with clay, are gone forever. Today we need a FM fitting for Industrie 4.0.

Handover & Commissioning

As contractors and suppliers from different disciplines and industries near completion of their respective work, the reality of the final product quickly takes form.

Swift and successful start of production

You think a smooth start of production will never work? Too many discrepansies in the test phase? We can give a hand.

Your Contact

Armin Schenker

+49 30/ 84176710

Early and continual integration

Life punishes those who come too late with costs, deadlines and reduced quality.

In an era of rapid digitalisation and automation, the technologies for operating resources and processes often outpace the building requirements specified at the outset of the project. Alterations to the interfaces between technologies and the building then extend right into the later reaches of the construction phase. Requirements related to operation, servicing and maintenance can only be specified at a very late juncture, meaning that – from a planning and contractual viewpoint – these are frequently incomplete or have not been considered at all.

The usual quandary: the operating resources are not yet specified – it is not even clear exactly what technologies will be deployed and how everything is supposed to work together. Meanwhile, the building department wishes to progress and demands facts and figures regarding the type, location and dimensioning of media connections; regarding the structural design and surface finishes. The facility manager wants to know the requirements for the building management system and servicing works. What to do?

You can press pause on the build until a decision has been made regarding technologies and then complete the building at your leisure, whilst advancements in technology draw by anyway in the fast lane. You could also just build anyway, alter everything later and leave the operating expenses to take care of themselves. Neither requires rethinking or alterations. Cost increases, time schedule shifts, collisions in operating resources with the building, modifications in later project phases, complications in the commissioning and handover phase, and unchecked operating expenses form part of the typical project concept.

Should you nevertheless wish to ensure that – in spite of the integration of advanced technology during the design and construction phase for the launch of production – all requirements within the defined cost and time schedule frameworks have been fulfilled, that buildings and facilities have been handed over to the facility management providers and can be sustainably operated, then our recommendation to you is to prepare your team for this at an early stage and to get to work as a collective.

How to achieve this? With the aid of an Interface and Change Management system, which we have developed during our many years of experience in the control of complex industrial projects.

For our clients, we ensure that the necessary questions are asked, and responses received, in a timely fashion. Typical: Mountains of information have to be analysed, systematised and, under consideration of all implications, anchored in the correct place in the project. Because we are often asked for the highest degrees of flexibility and creativity, we work with agility.

With us, you’ll be on time. Get in touch with our expert for Interface Management, Armin Schenker +49 30/84176710.


Your Contact

Martin Otte

+49 30/ 84176710

We understand Facility Management

The times when facility management stood for occasionally filling holes in the roof with straw, or patching the floor with clay, are gone forever. In the era of Industry 4.0, information is to be processed from complex interconnections between the building and process technology; sensitive materials, state-of-the-art technology, equipment and systems are to be serviced and maintained. To make sure that this all runs smoothly, facility management requirements belong right at the beginning of the project. Unfortunately, this only happens very rarely…

Let’s look at an everyday example: The project is complete; now “real life” can begin. Production is up and running and targets are to be achieved. You can now either deal with increased operating expenses, information losses and ineffective adjustments, or you can secure your investment through sustainable servicing and maintenance and profit from optimised processes and low operating expenses.

If your preference is for the latter, you should define your facility management specifications at the earliest possible time so these can be integrated into the following design and implementation steps.

We will support you in this by pointing you towards the required strategic considerations during the preparation phase, helping you to integrate FM requirements into your project definition. In the process, these will be developed further over the course of the project, and implemented in the design, building processes and contracts.

In order to continue improving operational processes, even after completion, we will support the assumption of information in CAFM systems, or draw up dedicated and tailored application cases together with your FM team. Ultimately, you will be our ideal partner for running your business.

And the best part of this: You save money.

How do you save money in the process? Because we work with BIM. Using this method, data related to FM are collected centrally over the entire course of the project term. They do not therefore only become available at the time of handing over final documentation.

Correlations are becoming ever more complex and these result in opportunities and risks. If you want to know more about how we deal with this, give Martin Otte a call on +49 30/ 84176710.

Your Contacts

Armin Schenker und Gabriel Johnson

+49 30/ 84176710

Handover, commissioning and trial operation

The critical phase begins: Handover and commissioning can be one of the most active and interactive phases of your construction project.  As contractors and suppliers from different disciplines and industries near completion of their respective work, the reality of the final product quickly takes form.  The interfaces and interaction between these different aspects of the project now become the central focus.

Just a few of the tasks are e.g.:

  • Coordination of contract deliverables
  • scheduling deliveries
  • managing installation
  • staging areas
  • managing interfaces for both equipment and building

During this critical time of the project development it is essential to have clear and organized overview of the project progress and challenges. Due to the high level of interaction and typically tight time schedules, even seemingly issues can have a major impact on the progress of the project.

Through years of experience, OPM has developed methods and tools to specifically address the challenges face during the handover and commissioning phase:

The agile based project management approach facilitates a high level of communication between the various parties involved in the project.  This means that when a challenge or issue arises, it is identified and addressed right away.  Our project management tools and methods help to ensure that the right information is available and communicate to the right people.  Time schedules are set-up and managed so that the right people are on site at the right time.  Contracts and specifications are understood and managed, helping to verify that the deliverables are correctly and completely fulfilled.

But will the facility as a whole – building and equipment meet the requirements? OPM’s approach: Let’s try it!

Trial operation reduces risks

The trial operation phase is the link between the building’s erection, equipment installation as well as the following ramp-up of the production. The trial operation will be incorporated in the time scheduling in a way that there will be enough time left to notice possible issues early on and solve them before start of production.

For this purpose, the project team will be tightly linked to the suppliers. The prepared test programs will be trialled in cooperation with the future users and operators to solve issues directly. Moreover, the future user and operator gather first, important experiences in using the new facilities. In consequence, the start of production can begin with the smallest possible risks.

As demonstrated through countless examples and successful projects, OPM has the right experience, methods and tools to help ensure a successful handover and commission for your project. You want to know how? Armin Schenker and Gabriel Johnson will be happy to advise +49 30/ 84176710.


Your Contact

Armin Schenker

+49 30/ 84176710

Swift and successful start of production

Imagine for a moment that you are the artistic director of a new opera house. The opening concert: The famous pin could be heard dropping in the sold-out auditorium. The expectations of the audience are high. Even the orchestra is unable to find the common concert pitch and struggles to come to terms with the acoustics of the room. Rehearsals, too, were hampered with difficulties, as orchestra members were replaced and some musicians were given new instruments. So far, it has not been possible to perfect the interplay to the point that it can be presented on stage. The first show is therefore a disaster. As a consequence, the disappointed audience takes to studying the concert plans of the competition and, in your concert house, numerous seats in the audience remain empty for the following performances. Such a pity; after you had hoped for a successful launch.

On the other hand, think how pleasing it is, when the path into the rehearsals and, ultimately, into the productive phase is a smooth run. It is exactly the same on building projects and, for this reason, the post-construction run-up to production fully deserves the attention it gets.

An artistic director’s worth is measured in terms of how regularly the auditorium is filled, whether customers are supplied on time; the operating concept is either right or it isn’t. In order to achieve success here, you must define the programme, set up and equip the team; ensure that the team is well practiced for the premiere, and that the performance is perfect. Now you are not an artistic director; now you are responsible for a complex construction scheme and, even so, there are a number of shared features and goals.

Good preparation is the be-all and end-all to achieving these. All aspects of the production process must to be considered during the project definition stage (URS), in order to then take them into account in the building design, in the layout of the operating facility, in personnel management and in logistics processes.

In order to achieve this dovetailing of the production process with the building and technical services designs, we integrate all involved parties right from the very outset. This is the only way to ensure that their experience is taken into account and you can focus your preparation on producing outstanding services in your project.

Once the crucial phase of commissioning tests begins, we will provide support with regular stand-up meetings (agile project management), to ensure that any outstanding matters are identified, addressed and dealt with as quickly as possible. In this regard, design team members, contracting firms, suppliers, users and facility managers work hand-in-hand ‒ just like the musicians, director, choreographers and artistic director, when they want to.

You think that will ever happen as there are often so many discrepancies in the test phase? Help is at hand: Take a look behind the scenes and discover our PMO instrument. In this regard, Armin Schenker is happy to provide assistance on +49 30/ 84176710.

Integration, Ramp-up & Operation

Frühzeitige und kontinuierliche Integration

Wer zu spät kommt, den bestrafen Kosten, Termine und reduzierte Qualität. Was tun?

Wir verstehen Facility Management

Die Zeiten, in denen Facility Management darin bestand, gelegentlich Löcher im Dach mit Stroh zu flicken, ist unwiderruflich vorbei. Heute wird FM passend für Industrie 4.0 gebraucht.

Handover & Commissioning

As contractors and suppliers from different disciplines and industries near completion of their respective work, the reality of the final product quickly takes form.

Schnelle und erfolgreiche Produktionsaufnahme

Sie meinen, ein reibungsloser Produktionsanlauf – das klappt nie, denn es gibt regelmäßig zu viele Unstimmigkeiten in der Testphase? Hilfe naht.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Armin Schenker

030/ 84176710

Frühzeitige und kontinuierliche Integration

Wer zu spät kommt, den bestrafen Kosten, Termine und reduzierte Qualität.

In Zeiten rasender Digitalisierung und Automatisierung überholen Technologien für Betriebsmittel und Prozesse oft die zu Projektbeginn an den Bau gestellten Anforderungen. Bis in die späte Bauphase hinein ändern sich dann Schnittstellen zwischen Technologie und Gebäude. Anforderungen an Betrieb, Wartung und Instandhaltung können erst sehr spät spezifiziert werden, sodass diese planerisch und vertraglich meist unvollständig oder gar nicht berücksichtigt sind.

Der übliche Zwiespalt: Die Betriebsmittel sind noch nicht spezifiziert, es ist nicht einmal geklärt, welche Technologien genau zum Einsatz kommen und wie alles zusammenwirken soll. Der Bau indes möchte voranschreiten und verlangt Angaben zu Typ, Lage und Dimensionierung der Medienanschlüsse, zu Anforderungen an Statik und Oberflächen. Das FM fragt nach Anforderungen an GLT und Wartung. Was tun?

Sie könnten nun den Bau pausieren, bis die Technologie entschieden ist, und dann in aller Ruhe das Gebäude erstellen, während der technologische Fortschritt trotzdem auf der Überholspur vorbeizieht. Sie könnten auch irgendwie bauen, später umbauen und die Betriebskosten sich selbst überlassen. Umdenken oder Veränderungen erfordert beides nicht. Kostensteigerungen, Terminverschiebungen, Kollisionen der Betriebsmittel mit dem Gebäude, Modifikationen in späten Projektphasen, Komplikationen in der Inbetriebnahme- und Übergabephase sowie unkontrollierte Betriebskosten sind Teil des üblichen Projektkonzeptes.

Sollten Sie hingegen sicherstellen wollen, dass trotz der Integration fortgeschrittener Technologie während der Planungs- und Bauphase zum Produktionsstart alle Anforderungen innerhalb des vorgegebenen Kosten- und Terminrahmens erfüllt sind, Gebäude und Anlagen an das Facility Management übergeben und nachhaltig betrieben werden können, dann empfehlen wir Ihnen, das gesamte Team frühzeitig darauf einzustimmen und gemeinsam ans Werk zu gehen.

Wie das geht? – Mit Hilfe eines Schnittstellen- und Änderungsmanagements, das wir während unserer langjährigen Erfahrung bei der Steuerung komplexer Industriebauvorhaben entwickelt haben.

Für unsere Auftraggeber sorgen wir dafür, dass rechtzeitig die notwendigen Fragen gestellt und Antworten eingeholt werden. Typisch: Berge von Informationen sind zu analysieren, zu systematisieren und unter Berücksichtigung aller Konsequenzen an der richtigen Stelle im Projekt zu verankern. Weil bei der Lösungssuche oft höchste Flexibilität und Kreativität gefragt sind, arbeiten wir agil.

Mit uns sind Sie pünktlich. Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten für Schnittstellenmanagement: Armin Schenker 030/84176710

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Martin Otte

030/ 84176710

Wir verstehen Facility Management

Die Zeit, in der Facility Management darin bestand, gelegentlich Löcher im Dach mit Stroh oder im Boden mit Lehm zu flicken, ist unwiderruflich vorbei. In Zeiten von Industrie 4.0 sind Informationen aus komplexen Verknüpfungen der Gebäude- und Prozesstechnologie zu verarbeiten, sensible Materialien, hoch technologische Anlagen und Systeme zu warten und instand zu halten. Damit das optimal erfolgen kann, gehören die Anforderungen des Facility Managements von Anfang zum Projekt. Leider wird das bisher nur selten getan.

Ein Blick in die Praxis: Das Projekt ist abgeschlossen, das „richtige Leben“ beginnt. Die Produktion läuft und Zielvorgaben sind zu erreichen. Sie können sich nun mit überhöhten Betriebskosten, Informationsverlusten und uneffektiven Nachjustierungen auseinandersetzen – oder Sie sichern Ihre Investition durch nachhaltig gestaltete Wartung und Instandhaltung, profitieren von optimierten Prozessen und niedrigen Betriebskosten.

Sofern Sie Letzteres bevorzugen, sollten Sie die Spezifikationen für das Facility Management frühzeitig definieren und an den entscheidenden Stellen in Planung und Umsetzung einfließen lassen.

Wir helfen Ihnen dabei, indem wir Sie bereits in der Vorbereitungsphase zu den notwendigen strategischen Überlegungen anregen und Sie dabei unterstützen, die Anforderungen des FM in die Projektdefinition zu integrieren. Dabei werden sie im Projektverlauf kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und in Planungs- und Bauprozesse sowie Verträge implementiert.

Um die Betriebsabläufe auch nach Fertigstellung weiter zu optimieren, unterstützen wir die Übernahme der Informationen in CAFM-Systeme oder erarbeiten mit Ihrem FM-Team eigene maßgeschneiderte Anwendungsfälle.  Schließlich finden wir mit Ihnen den idealen Partner für Ihre Betriebsführung.

Das Beste dabei: Sie sparen Geld.

Weshalb Sie dabei Geld sparen? Weil wir mit BIM arbeiten. Bei dieser Methode werden die Daten für das FM über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit zentral gesammelt. Sie liegen also nicht erst bei Übergabe der Abschlussdokumentation vor.

Die Zusammenhänge werden immer komplexer und daraus resultieren Chancen und Risiken. Wenn Sie genauer wissen möchten, wie wir damit umgehen, rufen Sie Martin Otte unter 030/ 84176710 an.

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Armin Schenker und Gabriel Johnson

030/ 84176710

Inbetriebnahme, Übergabe und Testbetrieb

Die heiße Phase beginnt – Übergabe und Inbetriebnahme sind wahrscheinlich die aktivsten und interaktivsten Phasen Ihres Bauprojektes. Wenn die Vertragspartner und Lieferanten der verschiedenen Gewerke und Industrien fast fertig sind, nimmt das „finale Produkt“ schnell Form an. Die Schnittstellen und Interaktionen zwischen den verschiedenen Projektaspekten rücken in den zentralen Fokus.

Jetzt stehen so einige Aufgaben an, ein paar davon sind z. B.:

  • Koordination der Vertragsergebnisse
  • Lieferungen terminieren
  • Installationen managen
  • Platz bereitstellen
  • die Schnittstellen zwischen Gebäude und Equipment managen

Während dieser kritischen Phase in der Projektentwicklung ist es wichtig, einen klaren und gut organisierten Überblick über den Projektfortschritt und die Herausforderungen zu behalten. Bei diesem hohen Level an Interaktion und den typischen straffen Zeitplänen können selbst scheinbar kleine Störungen einen großen Einfluß auf den Fortschritt haben.

Hierfür haben wir unsere Methoden und Werkzeuge mit Hilfe unserer jahrelangen Erfahrung so angepasst, dass die Herausforderungen der Inbetriebnahme- und Übergabephase passend zum Projektfortschritt gelöst werden können.

So ist das Agile Projektmanagement unabdingbar geworden: Die Intensität der Kommunikation zwischen den verschiedenen Projektteilnehmern nimmt zu – alle müssen eng vernetzt sein. Wenn ein Problem entsteht, kann dieses so schnell wie möglich identifiziert und sofort angesprochen und geklärt werden. Unsere agilen PM-Werkzeuge und -Methoden stellen sicher, dass die richtige Information an die Personen kommuniziert wird, für die sie relevant ist. Die Terminpläne werden so geschrieben, dass die richtigen Leute am richtigen Ort zur richtigen Zeit sind. Verträge und Spezifikationen sind so nachvollziehbar und gemanaged, dass das Team vor Ort weiß, welche Arbeitsergebnisse vereinbart sind, und die Erfüllung prüfen kann.

Doch wird die Fabrik als Ganzes – Gebäude und Equipment – alle Anforderungen erfüllen? Der Ansatz von OPM ist: Probieren wir es aus!

Der Testbetrieb ist das Bindeglied zwischen der Errichtung der Gebäude, der Installation der Betriebsausstattung und dem nachfolgenden Anfahren der Produktion („Ramp-up“). In die Terminplanung ist der Testbetrieb so eingebunden, dass genügend Zeit bleibt, mögliche Probleme frühzeitig zu erkennen und vor Beginn der Produktionsaufnahme zu lösen.

Dazu wird das Projektteam eng mit den Errichtern vernetzt. Unter Einbeziehung der späteren Nutzer und Betreiber werden die vorbereiteten Testprogramme abgefahren und Probleme auf dem „kleinen Dienstweg“ gelöst. Außerdem sammelt der Nutzer und Betreiber erste wichtige Erfahrungen mit dem Umgang der neuen Anlagen. Damit kann die Produktionsaufnahme mit dem kleinstmöglichen Risiko beginnen.

Wir haben schon so einige Projekte bei einem guten Produktionsstart unterstützt. Sie wollen wissen wie? Armin Schenker und Gabriel Johnson beraten Sie gern 030/ 84176710.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Armin Schenker

030/ 84176710

Schnelle und erfolgreiche Produktionsaufnahme

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie sind Intendant eines neuen Opernhauses. Das Eröffnungskonzert – im ausverkauften Saal wäre die berühmte Stecknadel zu hören. Die Erwartungen des Publikums sind hoch. Allein – das Orchester findet keine gemeinsame Stimmlage und kommt auch mit der Akustik des neuen Saales nicht zurecht. Schon die Proben waren schwierig, weil Orchestermitglieder ausgewechselt wurden, einige Musiker neue Instrumente erhielten. Es ist bisher nicht gelungen, das Zusammenspiel vorstellungsreif zu perfektionieren. Die erste Darbietung wird deswegen ein Desaster. Als Folge studiert das enttäuschte Publikum die Spielpläne des Wettbewerbs und in den folgenden Vorstellungen bleiben in Ihrem Haus zahlreiche Plätze im Zuschauersaal leer. Schade, Sie hatten sich einen erfolgreicheren Auftakt erhofft.

Wie erfreulich ist es hingegen, wenn es gelingt, geordnet in die Zeit der Proben und schließlich in die produktive Phase zu gelangen. Bei einem Bauprojekt ist es genauso – deswegen verdient der Produktionsanlauf nach der Bauphase entsprechende Aufmerksamkeit.

Ein Intendant wird daran gemessen, ob der Saal regelmäßig gefüllt ist, ob Kunden fristgerecht beliefert werden, das Betriebskonzept stimmt – oder eben nicht. Um dabei erfolgreich zu sein, müssen Sie das Programm und das Team aufstellen, Letzteres ausstatten, dafür sorgen, dass das Team zur Premiere eingespielt ist, die Vorstellung perfekt wird. Nun sind Sie kein Intendant, sondern verantwortlich für ein komplexes Bauvorhaben, und doch gibt es einige Gemeinsamkeiten und Ziele.

Damit die erreicht werden, ist eine gute Vorbereitung das A und O. Alle Aspekte des Produktionsprozesses sind bereits in der Projektdefinition (URS) zu bedenken, um sie dann in der Bauplanung, bei der Auslegung der Betriebseinrichtung, dem Personalmanagement und der Logistik zu berücksichtigen.

Für diese Verzahnung des Produktionsprozesses mit der Bau- und Anlagenplanung beziehen wir alle Beteiligten von Beginn an mit ein. Nur so wird sichergestellt, dass deren Erfahrungen berücksichtigt werden und sie sich optimal vorbereiten können auf die Erzielung herausragender Leistungen in Ihrem Projekt.

Wenn die „heiße“ Phase der Inbetriebnahmetests beginnt, unterstützen wir mit regelmäßigen Stand-up-Meetings (Agile PM), die sicherstellen, dass offene Punkte festgestellt, adressiert und schnellstmöglich abgearbeitet werden. Dabei arbeiten Planer, ausführende Firmen, Lieferanten, Nutzer und Facility Management so wie Musiker, Dirigent, Choreographen und Intendant Hand in Hand, wenn Sie so wollen.

Sie meinen, das klappt nie, denn es gibt regelmäßig zu viele Unstimmigkeiten in der Testphase? Hilfe naht: Werfen Sie einen Blick hinter die Kulissen und entdecken Sie unser PMO-Instrument. Hier kann Ihnen Armin Schenker weiterhelfen unter 030/ 84176710.