The need for better building information management BIM

BIM Management (Building Information Modelling) for constructive teamwork in the building industry

Mistrusting clairvoyants may be recommendable in practice. Meanwhile is foresight not only gratifying, but also possible. Yes, even in the construction industry.

Imagine a living model of your project that provides you with an overview of every process – at every stage. Welcome to the future of the building sector.

Many advantages of cooperative teamwork based on suitable tools had to be gone without for a long time. It almost appears as if many of us had resigned themselves to this.

Engineering is becoming more and more digital. That has concrete repercussions beyond the buzzwords. Digital engineering is a tool that redefines how projects are planned, realized and optimized. The complementary use of data, drawings and information allowing us to peek into the future is referred to as building information modelling, or BIM for short. It is high time to engage with this technology. Its influence on the construction and industrial market is growing, even if the building industry has shown great reserve here in comparison with other sectors so far. We at OPM have been doing just that for a number of years already, and for good reason, refining the processes and ways of working together.

Visualization is a great help for cooperation and decision-making. BIM enables a project to be brought to life by visualization before the very first cut of the spade.

Our BIM approach provides all those involved with an opportunity to cooperate on a shared level in what can truly be referred to as teamwork – and that from the first draft stages. This is where the parties exchange data, ideas, know-how, options and their consequences, providing everyone with a better understanding of the decisions. Even the easier access saves time while all the relevant information is combined in a single model – be it about the building, its technology and building management systems, or the required equipment.

Use of the three-dimensional model makes conflicts between the trades or facilities foreseeable, before they flare up in the realization. The consequences and costs of every change can be estimated more precisely, thus improving the decision-making process. This includes the option of defining the requirements for every project element early on, such as the water consumption of a machine, for example. Which facilitates review as the other trades and parties involved will now also be aware of these requirements, and able to adjust the dimensions of supply lines, for example, or to make allowances for the size of the machine, also for meeting fire escape needs. The benefits of BIM become clearer, the more complex the interrelations are.

As early as in the design phase, the BIM model provides all parties with a central platform, helping to streamline their work processes. The tasks in the construction phases are rendered transparent for all project parties, because they are better able to recognize, plan and provide their share of the services this way.

From determining the requirements and basics through to the maintenance phase

Besides the advantages for the planning and design, BIM also provides a framework for the management – for the operation, maintenance or adjustments such as conversion work. The optimization and adjustment of facility management processes to changed conditions can thus also be facilitated in the future.

The more complex a project is, the more helpful will BIM be.

Being able to foresee things can make everything a lot easier. Even highly complex processes can be safely realized thanks to BIM. We have already proven this in a number of major industrial projects such as the wheel and brake shop at Frankfurt’s eastern harbour.

It may sound like science fiction, but the list of projects where we succeeded thanks to BIM is a long one already. Here’s a selection:

Your Contact

Kamel Salem

030/ 84176710

Building Information Management (BIM) für eine konstruktive Zusammenarbeit in der Baubranche

 

Hellsehern mit Misstrauen zu begegnen, dürfte in der Praxis empfehlenswert sein. Vorhersehen ist hingegen nicht nur erfreulich, sondern auch möglich. Ja, auch in der Baubranche.

Stellen Sie sich ein lebendiges Modell Ihres Projektes vor, das Ihnen – und das in jedem Stadium – einen Überblick über jeden Prozess liefert. Willkommen in der Zukunft der Baubranche.

Auf viele Vorteile einer kooperativen Zusammenarbeit unter Einsatz geeigneter Werkzeuge wurde lange Zeit verzichtet. Es scheint fast so, als hätten sich viele damit abgefunden.

Das Ingenieurwesen wird zunehmend digitaler. Jenseits der Schlagworte hat das konkrete Auswirkungen. Digitales Engineering ist ein Werkzeug, das die Art und Weise neu definiert, wie Projekte geplant, realisiert und optimiert werden. Diese sich ergänzende Nutzung von Daten, Zeichnungen und Informationen, die uns in die Zukunft blicken lassen, nennt sich Building Information Modelling, kurz BIM. Es ist höchste Zeit, sich mit dieser Technologie zu beschäftigen. Ihr Einfluss auf den Bau- und Industriemarkt nimmt zu, auch wenn die Baubranche hier im Vergleich zu anderen Bereichen bisher noch sehr zurückhaltend war. Wir bei OPM tun dies aus gutem Grund schon seit einigen Jahren und entwickeln die Prozesse sowie die Art der Zusammenarbeit weiter.

Visualisierung ist eine große Hilfe bei Zusammenarbeit und Entscheidungsfindung. Der Einsatz von BIM ermöglicht es, ein Projekt durch Visualisierung zum Leben zu erwecken, bevor der erste Spatenstich erfolgt ist.

Von der ersten Entwurfsphase an bietet unser Ansatz für BIM den Beteiligten die Möglichkeit, auf einer gemeinsamen Ebene zu arbeiten, bei der tatsächlich von Zusammenarbeit gesprochen werden kann. Beteiligte tauschen hier Daten aus, Ideen, Wissen, Optionen und deren Auswirkungen, sodass jeder die Entscheidungen besser versteht. Schon der erleichterte Zugriff spart Zeit, und alle relevanten Informationen sind in einem Modell vereint – über das Gebäude, dessen Technik und über das notwendige Equipment.

Durch die Verwendung des dreidimensionalen Modells werden Konflikte zwischen den Gewerken oder auch der Ausstattung absehbar, bevor sie bei der Umsetzung auftreten. Die Konsequenzen und Kosten jeder Änderung lassen sich genauer einschätzen, sodass Entscheidungsfindungsprozesse verbessert werden. So kann für jedes Projektelement, wie beispielsweise den Wasserbedarf einer Maschine, frühzeitig definiert werden, was benötigt wird. Das macht die Überprüfung einfacher, weil auch die anderen Gewerke und Beteiligten nun diese Anforderungen kennen und beispielsweise die Dimensionen von Versorgungsleitungen anpassen können oder die Größe der Maschine berücksichtigen, damit auch die Brandschutzwege die Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Je komplexer die Zusammenhänge, desto deutlicher werden die Vorteile von BIM.

Schon in der Konstruktionsphase erhalten die Beteiligten durch das BIM-Modell eine zentrale Plattform. Die Arbeitsprozesse werden so rationalisiert. Die Aufgaben in den Bauphasen werden für alle Projektbeteiligten nachvollziehbar, weil sie ihren Leistungsanteil deutlicher erkennen, planen und leisten können.

Von der Grundlagenermittlung bis zur Wartungsphase

Neben den Vorteilen während Planung und Konstruktion liefert BIM auch den Rahmen für das Management – für den Betrieb, die Wartung oder Anpassungen, wie z. B. Umbauarbeiten. Auch Facility-Management-Prozesse lassen sich so zukünftig leichter optimieren und an veränderte Bedingungen anpassen.

Je komplexer ein Projekt, desto hilfreicher ist BIM

Wer vorhersehen kann, hat vieles leichter. Selbst äußert komplexe Prozesse lassen sich Dank BIM sicher realisieren. Das haben wir schon bei einigen großen Industrieprojekten bewiesen.

Es mag nach Science Fiction klingen, doch die Liste der Projekte, bei denen wir mit Unterstützung von BIM erfolgreich waren, ist schon jetzt lang. Hier eine Auswahl:

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Kamel Salem

030/ 84176710